Rise and power base
Public roles are source-confirmed; controversies or allegations must be read separately as source-backed evidence-layer material.
Dhaka and national financial sector

A business and political adviser figure discussed through the relationship between political influence, large bank exposure, Beximco-linked finance, and ACC proceedings.
Aliases: Salman Fazlur Rahman, Salman F Rahman
Included because public reporting and ACC statements link him to major banking, loan, stock-market, embezzlement, and money-laundering allegations; arrest context is separately documented.
0
Documented themes
2
Legal cases
0
Official findings
24
Verified sources
0
Organizations
4
Areas
0
Connected people
2
Incidents
Public roles are source-confirmed; controversies or allegations must be read separately as source-backed evidence-layer material.
Dhaka and national financial sector
Reported themes: banking exposure, political influence, corporate finance, stock market, loan fraud and money-laundering allegations.
The public-interest value is understanding how power in state institutions, policing, media, urban governance, or finance is discussed in records.
TBS reported large loans to companies associated with him. BSS reported an ACC case alleging stock-market manipulation, bank-loan embezzlement, and money laundering.
Next steps should model each claim, case, court order, response, or correction as a separate structured record.
Human rights abuse · 2024-07-01 2024-08-15
OHCHR, BSS, and international media have reported on the 2024 student-led protests, violent repression, deaths and injuries, government fall, and subsequent ICT proceedings.
The OHCHR report estimates, based on credible sources, that as many as 1,400 people may have been killed and thousands injured between July 1 and August 15, 2024; these numbers should be displayed as source-based estimates.
Explore incidentFinancial scandal · 1996-01-01 2026-01-08
Incident cluster separating 1996 market-manipulation allegations, later tribunal convictions, the Beximco-linked quashed case status, and the 2026 Beximco-linked pending ACC case.
Explore incidentACC case filed January 8, 2026; case number not stated in cited reporting
1996 stock-market cases; specific case numbers not stated in cited reporting
Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha · 10 Jul 2025
State news report that ICT-1 framed charges against Sheikh Hasina and two others in a crimes-against-humanity case and noted the rejection of a discharge plea.
Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha · 26 Nov 2025
State news report on release of the ICT-1 judgment text after the tribunal convicted and sentenced Sheikh Hasina and Asaduzzaman Khan Kamal in the July Mass Uprising case.
Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights · 12 Feb 2025
UN fact-finding report on protest-related human rights violations between July 1 and August 15, 2024, including findings about former-government policy and security-force conduct.
Associated Press · 17 Nov 2025
Wire report on the ICT verdict, including Hasina's response denying wrongdoing and calling the verdict biased and politically motivated.
Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha · 13 Aug 2024
Public report on the arrest of Anisul Huq and Salman F Rahman in a New Market police case.
The Business Standard · 14 Aug 2024
Public report on loans of companies associated with Salman F Rahman across seven banks and alleged abuse of state-owned banks.
Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha · 8 Jan 2026
Public report on ACC case alleging stock-market manipulation, bank-loan embezzlement, and money laundering.
Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha · 8 Dec 2025
BSS report on an ICT case against 45 accused including Obaidul Quader and Anisul Huq, listing 17 arrested accused produced before the tribunal.
The Daily Star · 2 Sep 2025
Report on former IGP Chowdhury Abdullah Al-Mamun's ICT testimony naming political and security figures in alleged July-uprising crackdown decision-making.
Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha · 10 Aug 2025
BSS reported that 84 of 209 accused in 30 miscellaneous July Uprising crimes-against-humanity cases were in custody, and named former ministers, advisers, a former secretary, retired Justice AHM Shamsuddin Chowdhury Manik, and dismissed Major General Ziaul Ahsan among people facing charges.
Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha · 13 May 2026
BSS report that ICT-1 framed charges against Shamim Osman and 11 others, including Ayan Osman and Tanvir Ahmed Titu, over alleged atrocities in Narayanganj during the July Mass Uprising.
The Business Standard · 28 Jul 2026
Report on prosecution witness testimony at ICT-1 alleging Ayon Osman shot a protester and describing an attack allegedly involving Shamim Osman and associates. The testimony is not treated as a final court finding.
The Daily Star · 10 Aug 2025
The Daily Star reported that the ICT accepted charges against five former police officials over the Rampura July Uprising incident, naming Rashedul Islam, Mashiur Rahman, Tarikul Islam Bhuiyan, and Chanchal Chandra Sarkar alongside former DMP commissioner Habibur Rahman.
The Daily Star · 26 May 2025
The Daily Star reported that ICT-1 took cognisance of charges against eight police officials over the Chankharpul killings, naming Sudip Kumar Chakraborty, Sha Alam Mohammad Akhtarul Islam, Mohammad Imrul, and Arshad Hossain among the accused.
The Daily Star · 27 Jan 2026
The Daily Star reported that ICT-1 sentenced former DMP commissioner Habibur Rahman, Sudip Kumar Chakraborty, and Shah Alam Mohammad Akhtarul Islam to death, and sentenced Mohammad Imrul and Arshad Hossain to prison terms, over the Chankharpul killings.
The Daily Star · 29 Jun 2026
The Daily Star reported that ICT-1 convicted five former police officers over Rampura shootings and killings, sentencing Habibur Rahman, Md Rashedul Islam, and Md Mashiur Rahman to death, Tarikul Islam Bhuiyan to life imprisonment, and Chanchal Chandra Sarkar to 20 years.
Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha · 24 Dec 2025
BSS reported that ICT-1 framed charges against former BGB officials Mohammad Redwanul Islam and Md Rafat Bin Alam, former DMP ADC Md Rashedul Islam, and former Rampura OC Md Moshiur Rahman over the killing of 28 people during the July Mass Uprising.
Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha · 29 Apr 2025
BSS reported that the ICT sent former additional superintendent of police Ishtiaq Ahmed to jail in a Chankharpul case and quoted a prosecutor alleging that a police digital-forensics team used drones to identify protesters and share information with law-enforcement agencies.
bdnews24.com · 31 Aug 2015
Court report that Chic Textiles managing director Md Maksudur Rasul and director Iftekhar Mohammad received four-year sentences and fines in a 1996 stock-manipulation case.
The Daily Star · 1 Sep 2015
Daily Star report on the first verdict in the 1996 share-scam cases, naming Chic Tex directors and describing four-year sentences and Tk 30 lakh fines.
bdnews24.com · 17 Aug 2015
Court report that SM Nurul Islam and Daily Industry editor Enayet Karim received three-year sentences and fines over BD Welding share-price manipulation.
The Daily Star · 3 Aug 2015
Court report that Mahbub Sarwar received a two-year sentence for disseminating false stock information through blogs and social media.
bdnews24.com · 20 Apr 2016
Court report that SPM chairman Shelly Rahman and client Syed Mahibur Rahman received two-year sentences and fines in the Kashem Silk Mills case.
bdnews24.com · 11 Jan 2017
Report that the High Court quashed 1996 stock-market manipulation cases against Salman F Rahman, Sohel F Rahman, and Beximco-linked companies.