Rise and power base
Public roles are source-confirmed; controversies or allegations must be read separately as source-backed evidence-layer material.
Chattogram and Dhaka

A major Bangladeshi business and banking figure discussed through bank ownership, loan exposure, ACC prosecutions, court freeze orders, and post-2024 financial-sector accountability reporting.
Aliases: Mohammad Saiful Alam, Saiful Alam Masud, S Alam, S Alam Group chairman
Included because BSS, Daily Star, TBS and Prothom Alo reporting documents a Money Loan Court sentence, ACC cases against him and associates, court orders freezing S Alam family shares, red-notice request proceedings, and detailed investigative reporting on the S Alam Group's alleged takeover and use of major banks.
0
Documented themes
2
Legal cases
0
Official findings
14
Verified sources
0
Organizations
1
Areas
4
Connected people
1
Incidents
Public roles are source-confirmed; controversies or allegations must be read separately as source-backed evidence-layer material.
Chattogram and Dhaka
Reported themes: bank control, loan exposure, shell-company allegations, ACC loan-embezzlement cases, alleged offshore laundering, court freeze and red-notice request orders, money-loan court enforcement, and financial-sector regulatory failure.
The public-interest value is understanding how power in state institutions, policing, media, urban governance, or finance is discussed in records.
Daily Star reported that Chattogram Money Loan Court-1 sentenced Mohammed Saiful Alam and 10 executives to five months in a case over non-repayment of an Islami Bank loan. BSS reported that the ACC filed a case against him and 66 others over alleged embezzlement from Islami Bank and alleged laundering of a portion of the money to Singapore, while TBS reported a separate Dhaka court order for an Interpol red-notice request after an ACC petition in another investigation. Daily Star reported separate ACC cases over alleged illegal assets of Saiful Alam and his wife and investigative findings on the S Alam family's control of several banks and financial institutions. Prothom Alo published a detailed account of the 2017 Islami Bank takeover based on former directors, officials and Bangladesh Bank sources. These records separate the 2026 money-loan sentence from ongoing ACC case, court-order, and investigative-reporting material.
Next steps should model each claim, case, court order, response, or correction as a separate structured record.
Institutional capture · 2017-01-01 2017-12-31
An institutional-capture record based on Prothom Alo and Daily Star investigative reporting about the 2017 control transition at Islami Bank Bangladesh PLC.
Explore incidentFamily
The Daily Star investigation identifies Farzana Parveen as Mohammed Saiful Alam's wife; this records a family relationship, not criminal liability.
Reviewed
Family
The Daily Star identifies Ahsanul Alam as Mohammed Saiful Alam's son; this records a family relationship, not criminal liability.
Reviewed
Family
The Daily Star identifies Maimuna Khanam as Mohammed Saiful Alam's daughter; this records a family relationship, not criminal liability.
Reviewed
Family
The Daily Star identifies Belal Ahmed as Mohammed Saiful Alam's son-in-law; this records a family relationship, not criminal liability.
Reviewed
Daily Star reported that Islami Bank's Khatunganj branch filed the case in Money Loan Court after failing to recover the loan.
Reporting says Chattogram Money Loan Court-1 sentenced Mohammed Saiful Alam and 10 executives to five months' imprisonment.
Chattogram Money Loan Court-1; individual case number not stated in cited report
Daily Star reporting says the court sentenced Mohammed Saiful Alam and 10 executives to five months' imprisonment.
ACC case numbers not stated in cited report
Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha · 9 Nov 2025
BSS report that ACC filed a case against S Alam and 66 others over alleged embezzlement from Islami Bank and alleged laundering of a portion of the money to Singapore.
The Daily Star · 25 Mar 2025
Report that the ACC filed two cases accusing Mohammed Saiful Alam and Farzana Parveen of amassing alleged illegal wealth and undeclared assets in Bangladesh and abroad.
The Daily Star · 27 Aug 2024
Investigative report on how Mohammed Saiful Alam and family members allegedly used regulatory permission and bank shareholding structures to control several banks and financial institutions.
Prothom Alo · 11 May 2026
Detailed report based on former directors, bank officials and Bangladesh Bank sources describing the alleged 2017 transfer of Islami Bank control to S Alam Group under state-security pressure.
Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha · 12 Feb 2025
BSS report that a Dhaka court ordered freezing of shares and related profits owned by Mohammed Saiful Alam and family members during an ACC money-laundering investigation.
The Daily Star · 7 Apr 2026
The Daily Star reported that 11 companies among Bangladesh's top 20 disclosed loan defaulters were directly or indirectly linked to S Alam Group, with at least Tk 22,881 crore in reported bad loans based on parliamentary and Bangladesh Bank data.
The Daily Star · 21 May 2026
Court report that Chattogram Money Loan Court-1 sentenced Mohammed Saiful Alam and 10 executives to five months in a loan non-repayment case filed by Islami Bank.
The Business Standard · 25 Sep 2025
Report that a Dhaka court ordered an Interpol red-notice request against Mohammed Saiful Alam and two relatives after an ACC petition in a loan and money-laundering investigation.
bdnews24.com · 10 Jul 2025
bdnews24.com reported a court order freezing family-linked Singapore accounts and shares and listed one account associated with Maimuna Khanam; it did not report an individual charge or conviction against her.
First Security Islami Bank PLC · 1 Jan 2024
The bank's annual report identifies Farzana Parveen as a director and describes her public corporate and media roles; it also lists Mohammed Saiful Alam in the bank's leadership profile.
The Business Standard · 28 Jan 2025
TBS reported that the ACC filed a case naming former Islami Bank chairman Ahsanul Alam among 52 accused over alleged loan embezzlement and money laundering; the report describes case-filing status, not a conviction.
The Daily Star · 23 Jan 2024
The Daily Star reported Belal Ahmed's public role as Social Islami Bank chairman and his attendance at the bank's 2024 business conference.
New Age · 1 Sep 2024
New Age reported that Belal Ahmed had chaired Social Islami Bank before Bangladesh Bank dissolved the S Alam-controlled board and appointed independent directors.
Global Islami Bank PLC · 1 Jan 2024
Global Islami Bank's profile page identifies Maimuna Khanam as a vice chairperson; separate established reporting identifies her as Mohammed Saiful Alam's daughter.